Directors’ Advisory Council

Finger Lakes Library System Directors’ Advisory Council


The Directors’ Advisory Council provides member libraries with an opportunity to participate in the development of Finger Lakes Library System services that are reflective of both New York State requirements and of local needs. The council addresses matters raised by the FLLS Director or by representatives of the libraries. The Directors’ Advisory Council may advise concerning procedures affecting services to libraries, and may make recommendations to the Finger Lakes Library System Board of Trustees concerning issues of system policy.


The Directors’ Advisory Council consists of ten member library directors or their designated representatives, from the following groups:

Central Library (TCPL) – 1 representative

Libraries chartered to serve:

20,000 and over population – 2 representatives Includes Auburn and Cortland

2,000 – 19,999 population – 3 representatives Includes Berkshire, Cato, Groton, Homer, Lansing, Nichols, Ovid, Owego, Port Byron, Seneca Falls, Spencer, Trumansburg, Union springs, Waterloo, Waverley, Weedsport

0 – 1,999 population – 3 representatives Includes Apalachin, Aurora, Candor, Cincinnatus, Dryden, Fair Haven, Interlaken, Lodi, Marathon, McGraw, Moravia, Newark Valley, Newfield, and Poplar Ridge

At Large – 1 representative

Directors’ Advisory council members serve three year terms.

The chair of the Finger Lakes Library System Board of Trustees System Services committee shall be considered a liaison to the Directors’ Advisory Council and shall be kept informed concerning all council proceedings.


The Directors’ Advisory Council shall meet on an as needed basis at time and location convenient to Council members.


Travel reimbursement to Directors’ Advisory Council meetings shall be reimbursed by the Finger Lakes Library System under System reimbursement guidelines.

Pin It on Pinterest