

## MINUTES OF THE FIFTY-EIGHTH FINGER LAKES LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

The fifty-eighth annual meeting of the Finger Lakes Library System was held October 14, 2016 at the Ithaca Country Club, Tompkins County. The meeting was attended by 115 people, including: legislators, trustees, librarians, staff, and guests of the System.

## **LEGISLATIVE MEET & GREET**

The Annual Meeting began with a Meet & Greet attended by the following legislators:

Assemblyman Philip Palmesano, Senator Thomas O'Mara, Senator James Seward, Linda Smith representing Assemblywoman Barbara Lifton, and Laura Martin, Director of the Books Program in Senate District 52.

## MINUTES OF THE BUSINESS MEETING

**Presiding:** President Sally Eller called the meeting to order at 11:08 AM.

**President & Director Reports** 

**Roll Call:** One or more Trustees from each of the following libraries were in attendance:

APAL, AUB, AURO, BERK, CAN, CATO, CIN, DRY, GRO, LAN, LODI, NEW, NIC, OVID,

POP, SENF, SPE, TCPL, TRU, WAT, WAV, WEED

**Trustee Vote:** The following candidates were approved for terms on the FLLS Board of Trustees:

Cayuga County: Deborah J. Lewis, term expires 2021 Seneca County: Martin Toombs, term expires 2020

**Previous Year's Minutes:** The Minutes from the Annual Meeting of 2015 were approved unanimously.

**Adjournment:** With no further business, President Eller adjourned the meeting at 11:38 AM.

**SPEAKER:** Michael Stephens, Library Information Systems Professor and Author

**LUNCHEON & AWARDS:** The following libraries won drawings for baskets of material for their libraries:

Cortland Free, Seneca Falls, Spencer, and Hazard (Poplar Ridge). In addition, two autographed copies of Michael Stephens' book "The Heart of Librarianship" were won by Lodi Whittier Library and Kellogg Free Library. The "Ultimaker 2" 3-D printer was jointly awarded to the following four libraries: Groton Public, Southworth (Dryden), Lamont Memorial (McGraw), and Powers (Moravia).

The following awards were presented:

- 1. **Joan Cooke Youth Services Award** jointly to **Sandra Groth** of Aurora Free Library, and **Lisa Semenza** of Hazard Library, Poplar Ridge, presented by Amanda Schiavulli, Member Services Librarian, Finger Lakes Library System.
- 2. **Ruth Polson Distinguished Service Award Jean Currie**, Edith B. Ford Memorial Library, Ovid, presented by Sally Eller, President, Finger Lakes Library System Board of Trustees.
- 3. **Library Trustee of the Year Award Linda Williams**, Coburn Library, Owego, presented by Sally Eller, President, Finger Lakes Library System Board of Trustees.
- 4. **Outreach Award Rebekah Abbey**, Edith B. Ford Memorial Library, Ovid, presented by Jenny Shonk, Education & Outreach Librarian, Finger Lakes Library System.
- 5. **Jan Aguirre Customer Service Award Tom Fredette,** Tompkins County Public Library, Ithaca, presented by Rex Helwig, Computer Network Services Manager, Finger Lakes Library System.
- 6. **New Library Director Chris Brewster**, Waverly Free Library, presented by Sarah Glogowski, Executive Director, Finger Lakes Library System.
- 7. **Library Director of the Year Award Annette Birdsall**, Ulysses Philomathic Library, Trumansburg. In Annette's absence the award was accepted by Stevan Knapp, Board President. Presented by Sarah Glogowski, Executive Director, Finger Lakes Library System.

Respectfully submitted,

Diana Leigh, Recording Secretary Barbara Melvin, Secretary, Board of Trustees