

# MINUTES OF THE FIFTY-NINTH FINGER LAKES LIBRARY SYSTEM ANNUAL MEETING

The fifty-ninth annual meeting of the Finger Lakes Library System was held October 13, 2017 at the Seneca Falls Country Club, Seneca County. The meeting was attended by 110 people, including: legislators, trustees, librarians, staff, and guests of the System.

## MEET & GREET

The Annual Meeting began with a Meet & Greet attended by the following people: Chris Catt representing Senator Pamela Helming, New York Library Association Executive Director Jeremy Johannesen, Speaker Cassie Guthrie, Executive Director of Pioneer Library System Lauren Moore, and Janet Cotraccia of the Community Foundation of Tompkins County.

## MINUTES OF THE BUSINESS MEETING

**Presiding:** President Sally Eller called the meeting to order at 10:58 AM.

## **President & Director Reports**

**Roll Call:** One or more Trustees from each of the following libraries were in attendance: APAL, AUB, AURO, CAN, CIN, DRY, GRO, INT, LAN, LODI, MARA, NEVA, NIC, OVID, POP, SENF, TRU, UNS, WAT, WEED

**Trustee Vote:** The following candidates were approved for terms on the FLLS Board of Trustees:

Cayuga County:Susan Marteney, term expires 2020Tioga County:Patricia Schaffer, term expires 2022At-Large:Gregg Kiehl, term expires 2022

Previous Year's Minutes: The Minutes from the Annual Meeting of 2016 were approved unanimously
Bylaws Ratification: The updated bylaws, as presented by FLLS Board of Trustees, were unanimously ratified.
Adjournment: With no further business, President Eller adjourned the meeting at 11:31 AM.
SPEAKER: Cassie Guthrie, Greece Public Library Director

## **LUNCHEON & AWARDS:** The following libraries won drawings for baskets of material for their libraries:

Tompkins County Public (Ithaca), Tappan-Spaulding Memorial (Newark Valley), Kellogg Free (Cincinnatus), Seymour Public (Auburn), and Candor Free Library.

## The following awards were presented:

- 1. Joan Cooke Youth Services Award Christa M. Boice of Lamont Memorial Library in McGraw
- 2. Library Trustee of the Year Award Deborah Lewis, Finger Lakes Library System
- 3. Jan Aguirre Customer Service Award Michelle Calupca, Lansing Community Library
- 4. Library Director of the Year Award Susan Currie, Tompkins County Public Library in Ithaca.

Respectfully submitted, Diana Leigh, Recording Secretary Barbara Melvin, Secretary, Board of Trustees